ASK Italian recalls Christmas Crackers because of undeclared allergens
Published by Food Standards Agency (FSA): · Ref. FSA-AA-78-2020
Reason for the recall
Allergens: Peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten), almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten). This product contains peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten) and may contain
- Allergens: Peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten), almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten).
- This product contains peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten) and may contain almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten). This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy to almonds (nuts), peanuts and/or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to barley (gluten), eggs, oats (gluten) and/or wheat (gluten).
ReasonAllergens: Peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten), almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten). This product…
BrandASK Italian
Batch number(s)not stated
Barcodenot stated
Product
ASK Italian Christmas Crackers
- Brand
- ASK Italian
- Category
- Allergy alert
- ASK Italian is recalling Ask Italian Christmas Crackers because the chocolates in the cracker contains peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten) and may contain almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten) not mentioned on the label. This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy to almonds (nuts), peanuts and/or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to barley (gluten), eggs, oats (gluten) and wheat (gluten).
- The product was mis-packed with the incorrect chocolates.
- ASK Italian Christmas Crackers — Best before: end: September 2021
What to do
- ASK Italian is recalling this product from customers and has been advised to contact the relevant allergy support organisations, which will tell their members about the recall. The company has also issued a point-of-sale notice to its customers. These notices explain to customers why the products are being recalled and tell them what to do if they have bought the products.
- If you have bought the above product and have an allergy or intolerance to any of the allergens listed above, do not eat the chocolate inside the cracker. Instead return it to the restaurant from where it was bought for a full refund.
Source: Food Standards Agency — food alerts — Food Standards Agency (FSA)
Source: Food Standards Agency. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. EU Safety Radar is an independent information service; the text above presents the official data in the original language — the notice published by the authority is authoritative.
Open the original notice (www.food.gov.uk) ↗ Official document (PDF) ↗